Research a Topic in Visual Arts on the Web
|
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
|
Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet |
Search by artists' name, artwork title, or geographic location of gallery. Subject entries include brief encyclopedia entries, bibliographic information, lists of art works, and links to related web sites and online images.
|
|
Catholic Encyclopedia |
Detailed information on artists and architecture associated with the Roman Catholic Church. Images are not included. Search by keyword or browse the alphabetic index.
|
|
Symbols.com: encyclopedia of Western signs and ideograms |
Contains more than 2,500 signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. Entries include a basic representation of each symbol and describe their origins, meanings, and historical development.
|
DirectoriesStyle GuidesJournals, Newsletters and Magazines-General Arts and Culture
|
Aesthetics On-Line (American Society for Aesthetics) |
Full text articles and book reviews on issues relating to visual arts theory.
|
|
Art a GoGo: Art Over Easy |
Reviews, Features, and News links to full text articles and high quality images of contemporary artists and art techniques.
|
|
Art Bin |
Full text articles from 1995 onwards that deal with popular and contemporary art.
|
|
ArtDaily .com |
Current events and news-predominantly from the U.S. concerning art and architecture. Lists of exhibits, museums, and auctions
|
|
Artfocus |
Current events in Canadian art, popular culture information, and tips on practical art applications.
|
|
Arts Journal: Daily Arts News |
Current events in the visual arts, architecture, music, theatre and drama reproduced from 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications.
|
|
BBC: Arts |
Information on the visual and performing arts in the United Kingdom.
|
|
Bomb Magazine |
Interviews with artists, writers, musicians, directors and actors.
|
|
fineArt Forum |
This e-zine explores the relationship between art and technology.
|
|
National Gallery of Canada Bulletin |
Articles on the subject of Canadian and International art published between 1963 and 1985.
|
|
New Art Examiner (Chicago New Art Association) |
A journal that examines issues in art, using various cultural and critical theoretical interpretations. Current events and information on art exhibitions in the American mid-west.
|
|
Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide (Association of Historians of Nineteenth-Century Art AHNCA) |
Scholarly, peer-reviewed e-journal is devoted to nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts worldwide.
|
Copyright-GeneralCopyright-CanadaCopyright-United StatesDatabases
|
Artists in Canada (CHIN) |
The most comprehensive index to Canadian artists on the Internet.
|
|
AskART.com American Artists Database |
This searchable database provides extensive information on thousands of artists, including a well-represented contingent of Canadian artists (eg. Greg Curnoe, Patterson Ewen). Included for each artist is brief biographical information, a bibliography and Museums that specialize in collecting his/her works. Images for selected artists are provided.
|
|
Labyrinth (Georgetown Univ.) |
Search for images, web links, information on primary and secondary texts, organizations, maps, and other information related to Medieval Studies.
|
|
Uncatalogued Manuscript Control Center |
Updates on collections of manuscripts in North America. Search for organizations and institutions with pre-1600 manuscript holdings.
|
Art Galleries and MuseumsImage Databases
|
Arcadian Galleries |
Created to sell "hand-painted reproductions" of famous art works, the image quality is excellent and individual items can be enlarged to a full screen format. Content ranges from the Renaissance to the nineteenth century.
|
|
Artist Index (Web Gallery of Art) |
Provides images, critiques, biographical and catalogue information for selected European artists of the Renaissance, Baroque and 18th Century.
|
|
ArtsEdNet: Image Galleries and Exhibitions (Getty) |
Offers hundreds of images that are organized by artist, title of work, or by date.
|
|
Barewalls Interactive Art |
Although this database is intended for purchasing posters online, the range of images and artists is fairly broad.
|
|
CGFA: Virtual Art Museum |
Search by the artist's name, by nationality or time frame. Most European countries, as well as the Americas are represented.
|
|
Christus Rex et Redemptor Mundi |
Information on religious art and architecture. Their Vatican collection comprises over 1200 images, and includes images from the Sistine Chapel, reproductions of Russian Icons and religious illuminations, works by Giotto, etc.
|
|
D2: Temple University Archival Database |
Database of photographs and reproductions of more than 1,200 international war posters.
|
|
Digital Archive of Art (Boston College) |
Images for 18th to 20th century painters and sculptors.
|
|
Guggenheim Museum: The Collection |
Offers a selection of 273 works of art from the New York museum's holdings, representing over 120 artists.
|
|
Hobo Signs and Symbols |
Lists 45 signs used by itinerants of the early to mid twentieth century to communicate.
|
|
Image Provider Directory |
A directory of international institutions, museums, and galleries that have online or print image collections.
|
|
Mark Harden's Artchive |
More than 2,000 scans from over 200 different artists.
|
|
Metropolitan Museum of Art: the Collection |
Over 3,500 images can be search by artist, collection, name of work, country, date(s), or keyword.
|
|
ShopArt |
Although this site is designed for online marketing, the A to Z list of artists offers excellent images of contemporary German art.
|
|
Virtual Museum of Canada |
Most major Canadian artists are represented.
|
|
Visual Arts Data Service |
Search more than a dozen British image databases, including resources from Bretton Hall, Univ. of Brighton, London College of Fashion, and the Imperial War Museum
|
Images Databases-PhotographicImage Databases-Thumbnails OnlyArchitecture
|
Architecture and Interior Design for the 20th Century America (Library of Congress) |
Online archive of photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schliesner presents 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.
|
|
Canadian Architecture Collection |
Links to some of the more significant Canadian architectural image collections in Canada, including ones produced by Moshe Safdie and Arthur Erickson.
|
|
Canadian Centre for Architecture |
Access to the 200,000 titles in their collection. Information on exhibitions and the "Visiting Scholars Program" as well.
|
|
Chicago Imagebase |
Explores the rich architectural heritage of Chicago.
|
|
Digital Archive of Architecture (Boston College) |
Rural and urban architecture is represented, beginning from prehistoric to the present,with special emphasis given to structures from Belgium.
|
|
Great Buildings Collection |
Database of architecture including names of buildings, architects, geographic location, numerous photographic images, information on the design (styles, construction system, date of construction/completion, etc.)and access to architectural drawings.
|
|
Index to Historic House Architecture |
This "Guide to Historic Houses" emphasizes Late-Victorian and Craftsman styles and provides brief descriptions of each.
|
|
Royal Institute of British Architects |
Comprehensive information on European and International architecture
|
|
Skyscapers.com |
A database of buildings that provides information on the structure, its architects and builders.
|
Art History and TheoryCanadian Art and Artists
|
Artists in Canada (CHIN) |
The most comprehensive index to Canadian artists on the Internet.
|
|
AskART.com American Artists Database |
Extensive information on thousands of artists, including a well-represented contingent of Canadian artists (eg. Greg Curnoe, Patterson Ewen). Included for each artist is brief biographical information, a bibliography of books and articles and Museums that specialize in collecting his/her works.
|
|
Canadian Artists on the Web |
The largest database of Canadian painters, sculptors, digital artists, printmakers, photographers and installation artists on the web.
|
|
Images Canada |
Over 65,000 photographic images, lithographs and reproductions from Canada's cultural institutions.
|
|
Preserving Canadian Heritage |
Information on preserving historical items, including current scientific developments in conservation.
|
|
Virtual Museum of Canada |
Most major Canadian artists are represented.
|
Popular Culture
|
Art Comics: Independent Comics for the Internet |
|
|
Art Crimes: The Writing on the Wall |
Graffiti, murals, tattoos, and street art in general. Images, brief articles, interviews, and information on this sub-culture are included.
|
|
Bad Cinema Diary |
A database of production information, plot summaries, images and critiques of some of the worst films of all genres and eras.
|
|
Museum of Bad Art (MOBA) |
Community-based, private institution dedicated to the collection, preservation, exhibition and celebration of bad art in all its forms.
|
Theory, Criticism and SociologyArtist Biographies and Exhibition Histories
|
Art in Context: Artists |
Information on hundreds of individual artists, their exhibition history, and images of their works
|
|
Art Seek |
Offers biographical information and images for artists internationally. (Artists pay to have entries posted on the site, so there is no official, critical selection process.)
|
|
Artist Index (Web Gallery of Art) |
Provides images, critiques, biographical and catalogue information for selected European artists of the Renaissance, Baroque and 18th Century.
|
|
Canadian Artists on the Web |
The largest database of Canadian painters, sculptors, digital artists, printmakers, photographers and installation artists on the web.
|
|
Wordwide art gallery |
Dedicated to displaying and promoting contemporary international art and artists.
|
General Practical Art Techniques and GuidesDrawingPaintingPhotography
|
Classic Camera Profiles (CameraQuest) |
Access to information on hundreds of different cameras from the earliest models to those produced presently.
|
|
DigitalTruth: Photo Source |
Extensive information on Time/Temperature Charts, and various processing techniques.
|
|
panoguide.com: the guide to panoramas and panoramic photography |
Includes instructions on creating virtual tours, authoring and viewer software, and a glossary.
|
|
PhotoGraphic Libraries |
Lists hundreds of libraries, museums, agencies and organizations that specialize in or collection photographic images.
|
|
Photography (About.com) |
A comprehensive online directory of resources for photography. Information on cameras, photographic techniques, online exhibitions, and much more.
|
|
Taking the Long View: Panoramic Photographs,1851-1991 (Library of Congress, American Memory Project) |
4,000 images featuring American cityscapes, landscapes, and group portraits.
|
|
Women Photographers (National Geographic) |
Profiles Jodi Cobb, Karen Kasmauski, Maria Stenzel, Annie Griffiths Belt, and Sisse Brimberg, with their audio commentaries on the photos. Requires Flash
|
PrintmakingSculptureComputer Graphics, Software and Animation
|
Animation: Lessons and links on the Web (About.com) |
Tutorials, guides, and online articles.
|
|
Computer Arts Tutorials: Photoshop, Flash, HTML, 3D and more |
News, tutorials, downloads, reviews, and a gallery of computer animation images.
|
|
Computer Graphics Tips, Tutorials: 3D Modeling, Animation, Image Maps, Compression |
A directory of tutorials on general/mixed media, 3D animation, and Flash.
|
|
Creating and Managing Digital Content (CHIN) |
Provides information on planning and implementing digital image collections.
|
|
TASI: Technical Advisory Service for Images |
Provides full text essays on producing digital image databases. Topics include image archives, project management, creating images, metadata and usage issues.
|
|
Web Design (About.com) |
All aspect of web design are included: Flash, CGI, HTML/XML, Java.
|
Aboriginal ArtFolk and Decorative ArtsFilm
|
Academic Info: Film Studies Gateway |
Comprehensive listing of academic film studies resources.
|
|
Films.com |
Movie reviews beginning in the 1920s. Reviews can be browsed by a title, film critic or by year. Note: files are large and often take time to load.
|
|
National Film Board of Canada |
|
|
WPA Film Library |
This independent organization of film producers has "tens of thousands of hours of vintage and contemporary imagery" available. Demo reels are available online by using RealPlayer software, and there is information on ordering films from the archive.
|
Graphic and Interior Design
|
Architecture and Interior Design for the 20th Century America (Library of Congress) |
Online archive of 29,000 photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schliesner of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.
|
|
Arts and Crafts Home |
Images and information on Arts and Crafts design.
|
|
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (Duke Univ.) |
Over 9,000 images that can be searched by famous people, product, or company.
|
Women Studies and Women ArtistsArt MarketArt Therapy
| Maintainer of this guide:
Laurie Morrison, Humanities Librarian | | |
last updated: April 24, 2006 |
|