Research a Topic in Popular Culture on the Web
|
Getting StartedTelevision
|
Encyclopedia of Television |
Encyclopaedic treatment of networks, programs, people, historic moments, trends and major policy disputes related to television.
|
|
Internet Movie Database |
Find information (cast, dates, trivia) on television shows & movies.
|
Popular Fiction (Mystery, Crime, Romance, etc.)
|
Canadian Comic Books |
Superhero comic books from the National Archives and National Library of Canada.
|
|
Crime Fiction Canada |
Searchable databases of materials related to the study of detective fiction in English, in Canada and around the world.
|
|
George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection (U. of Buffalo) |
The George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection is comprised of well over 25,000 pulp-fiction books and magazines. The earliest date from the 1940s.
Detective and mystery stories make up the largest part of the Collection, followed by science fiction paperbacks and magazines.
|
DataPrimary Sources-ads, images, audio/video clips
|
50 Years of Coca Cola Television Advertisements |
Television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for Coca Cola.
|
|
A Day in Radio |
Audio clips of a whole day of radio broadcasting in the 1930s.
|
|
Ad Council |
A repository of American public service advertisements from 1942-present, including Smokey the Bear's "Only you can prevent forest fires" and Rosie the Riveter.
|
|
AD* Access |
7000 advertisements printed in Canadian and U.S. newspapers between 1911 and 1955. Five main areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
|
|
AdFlip: Classic Print Ads |
Searchable database of classic print ads from 1940-2001.
|
|
American Social Hygiene Posters, 1910-1970 |
A collection of social hygiene posters (designed to inculcate certain social practices regarding hygiene, friendship, prostitution, and mental health) produced in the United States.
|
|
CBC Archives |
Historical video and radio clips from the CBC.
|
|
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 |
9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
|
|
England on Film |
Film footage of the social and cultural history of the North East and Cumbria.
|
|
Horatio Alger Jr. Resources |
A list of online resources regarding Horatio Alger Jr., a figure who cast a giant shadow in the world of dime novels, and who is best known for his series of tomes that celebrated the rags to riches mythos.
|
|
Images Canada |
Still images of Canadian events, people, places and things.
|
|
Internet Archive |
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
|
|
Lileks |
Contains items from 20th century popular culture, such as old comics and ads.
|
|
Radio Days: Radio Broadcast History in Sound and Words |
Source for the history of nostalgic and old time radio series and news!
|
|
Sunday School Books |
163 Sunday school books published in America between 1815 and 1865.
|
|
Using Primary Sources on the Web |
A guide to using and evaluating the quality of primary source materials that can be found on the web.
|
Newsfilm CollectionsFilm and TV Information and ReviewsPopular Culture MetasitesAssociations and Societies
| Maintainer of this guide:
Justine Cotton, Liaison Librarian | | |
last updated: May 29, 2008 |
|